Skepticism and Healing

How do you reconcile the Mind with one’s spirituality? Most traditions of yoga are clear that moving past the chatter and skepticism of the Mind is key to attaining deeper levels of Consciousness.  The Mind is considered a tool of the Ego.  And yet, the Mind itself will provide more than enough ammunition to ensure we don’t let Ego die.  One of the best tools in the Egoic tool kit is skepticism.

I have returned from Brazil, having spent two weeks with John Of God.  During this time, I witnessed many healing events and I witnessed my own transformation.  If you have read this blog before, you have seen the movement of healing from co-dependency, emotional release, relationship issues, health issues, and general chatter of the mind.  My purpose in the journey to John of God was not in seek of a miracle.  It was to devote myself to moving past the chatter of the Mind.

dogmaThe first days I was there, the Ego was very happy reminding me of all the reasons I should be anxious.  Crime stats, social issues…ultimately questioning why in the world I had decided to come to be with a medium for two weeks.  Of course, I have served as a platform medium in the past, so the subtle realms of spirit are not foreign to me, but I have abandoned them for some time.  The Great Hall was filled on my first day, and the energy of compassion, healing, surrender and hope was overwhelming.  I nearly fainted three times from the energy in the room, until I remembered to ground the energy.

Let’s be clear on what healing is: it is not necessarily an instantaneous physical transformation of health status.  Healing is defined as closing the gap between our spiritual nature and that of the divine.  Healing works from the perspective that all dis-ease originates in the spiritual realm, moves into patterns of thinking at the level of mind, is energized by our emotions and ultimately shows up in the body.  So, as one is more in tune with divine nature, changes in the mind and emotions and body naturally follow.

Despite my healing background, I found myself facing every day with skepticism.  At each stage in the healing sessions, I would question and resist what was happening…until it was happening to me.  I balked at the idea of spiritual surgery.  But it was no different than a Reiki session or a healing touch session, or a deep meditation – at least on the surfacrystal bedce.  What I experienced was 20 times more energetically charged than anything I have experienced in those modalities.  In the surgery, I felt deep release in my mental, emotional and physical levels. I was wiped out! I slept for two days, and found my mind becoming calmer and calmer.  Things that bothered me in the past were no longer able to grip me.  My chakras were more charged than ever before.  I had a crystal bed session where the energy in the chakras felt so high I thought I was getting heated up by the lights from the bed.  But when I put my hand between my chakra and the light, there was no heat.  The heat was coming from me and my rising energy.

We visited a sacred waterfall for a ritual of release.  I do a similar yoga practice each day where I offer up blockages and shower myself with new energy.  The waterfall energy literally knocked me over.  I became so dizzy near the waterfall I lost my breath.  There was nothing physical that could explain this experience.  The skeptic in me tried!

We are taught to question these experiences as potential hoaxes.  And yet we accept the medical field without the same skepticism.  Why is that? We write off authentic demonstrations of mind in the form of the Placebo Effect and call it an error term.  We use medicines derived from nature, but consider naturopathy as a suspicious health practice.  I have never had a holistic practitioner criticize my physician, but the same respect is not accorded in return.  I have never suffered from a holistic or spiritual practitioner’s treatment, but I have had a doctor try to put me under the knife when there were less invasive options available, and which only became options from my skepticism about the necessity of the surgery.  I have been prescribed medicines with serious side effects, and found naturally effective and safe alternatwaterfallives.  But those occurred because of my skepticism – of the medical system.

Why is that? In The Laughing Jesus, the authors posit that fundamentalism is a response from religions where the power base is dying.  Is it possible that the same argument could be made for medicine? The religion of medicine is being replaced by health promotion and naturopathy, alternative modalities and spiritual treatments.  The day of the doctor as absolute power is no longer as certain.  Patient not only question the medical system, they are exiting it.  There was a time when midwives were seen as hacks. Today, a legitimate field of practice has emerged for midwives, and the sorely  overworked OBGYN has breathed a sigh of relief.  There simply are not enough doctors, and so the system is slowly recognizing that for low risk pregnancies, a different experience is possible.  This is a far cry from the time when the medical profession discredited midwives as witches.

diffUltimately, skepticism can be a tool for inquiry and for moving through ego.  It can be our best friend, or the block we face when searching for something deeper.  I am glad I spent time with my skepticism, and learned that opening to my deeper intuition has been the healing I have been looking for all along.

Leave a Reply

