Its OK to Die

“Mommy, I’m going to miss George so much,” said my little one.

“I know. Me too,” I shared in response.

“He won’t even have Thanksgiving with us,” she observed.

“Little bug, we don’t know what will happen.  We don’t know the future. But I do know that no matter what it looks like, it is all ok. Its perfect. Do you feel that inside?” I asked.

“So its ok to die?” she asked.

“Its ok to die,” I said.

And in the end, we had Thanksgiving with George. We don’t think about how much we will miss him because we don’t know what that will be like. What we do know is that we are witnessing his process and it is beautiful.  It is so much like birth, and by that I’m surprised. It changes my perspective on loss.

It is ok to die.

image

2 thoughts on “Its OK to Die

  1. Leroy says:

    Wonderful advice! Thank-you my friend

Leave a Reply

