Accepting you, accepting me

image

Accept the whole of reality.

See the whole, not just what you want to see.

See the love, as God revealed. See the selfish, as God concealed.

I accept that you always loved me. You still do.

I accept that I always loved you. I still do.

All those things you did that hurt were not you hurting me. It was simply you. You are still doing them even without me in your life, so they could not be personal. It was you being you and me being me.

We might have made other choices. We might have tried. We might have grown and deepened together.

But instead we grow and deepen on our own. There is this beautiful little secret unfolding in this. As I accept you, I accept me. In that, I feel that thing we really are – that much deeper awareness. How can I be anything but joyfully at peace? How can I be anything but completely free?

And in seeing that, I also know you meant nothing more or less than any other part of life. You were neither a gift nor a karmic debt. You were no more a teacher than a student. You were not right, nor wrong.

“When someone tells you, “I love you,” and then you feel, “Oh, I must be worthy after all,” that’s an illusion. That’s not true. Or someone says, “I hate you,” and you think, “Oh, God, I knew it; I’m not very worthy,” that’s not true either. Neither one of these thoughts hold any intrinsic reality. They are an overlay. When someone says, “I love you,” he is telling you about himself, not you. When someone says, “I hate you,” she is telling you about herself, not you. World views are self views—literally.”
Adyashanti

I do not share your world view, nor you mine. That alone allows for me to let so much of my illusion fall away.

“We realize–often quite suddenly–that our sense of self, which has been formed and constructed out of our ideas, beliefs and images, is not really who we are. It doesn’t define us, it has no center.” Adyashanti

I accept you. I accept me. Because those are nothing significant.

Leave a Reply

