Living the 1%

There is a saying: Insanity is doing the same thing over and over, and expecting different results.

I find it curious that only 1% of the population really devotes itself to pursuing awakening (as an estimate – I have no statistics on this).  I realize that is also an expression of consciousness experiencing itself, so I don’t judge it.  Still, it is curious.

Insanity is letting the ego drive the bus, to me.  If you want to be miserable and unhappy, guaranteed, the recipe is really simple: believe what your ego tells you.  Make your worth about what you do, where you live, how much money you have.  Define your happiness by if you have a romantic relationship, if you have lived a life worthy of a movie script, and struggle against what is in front of you right now.  If you wish for something other than what is, you will always be unhappy.

Yet, most of us are taught to behave exactly this way. Why is that?

The systems of enlightenment have been around for thousands of years. “The earliest documented use of the word “Tantra” is in the Rigveda. Tantrism originated in the early centuries of the common era, developing into a fully articulated tradition by the end of the Gupta period. This was the “Golden Age of Hinduism” (ca. 320–650 AD), which flourished from the Gupta Empire (320 to 550 AD) to the fall of the Harsha Empire (606 to 647 AD). During this period power was centralised, trade increased, legal procedures standardised and literacy grew. Mahayana Buddhism flourished, but the orthodox Brahmana culture began its rejuvenation with the patronage of the Gupta Dynasty. The position of the Brahmans was reinforced, and the first Hindu temples emerged during the late Gupta period.” – Tantra

I suspect that the ego’s primary drive is survival, and that is the primary evolutionary drive as well.  Does that mean that enlightenment or awakening puts survival at risk? Quite possibly, it does.  You no longer live in terror of death.  You no longer invest in the value of money.  In some cases, you no longer feel drawn to coupling or raising children.  I am surprised myself by how much more satisfaction I get from my relationships with my kula mates and spiritual partners than I ever did in romantic relationship.

A friend of mine knew that I had booked in to go sky diving while I was in Las Vegas, but the weather did not permit it.  He invited me to do it in my home city, but for some reason, it no longer seemed right.  When he pushed me to understand why I wouldn’t do it, I realized I had fulfilled my need to know I would follow through on my intention (which I did by booking it.) Once the universe stopped it, I already had my desire met.  And at a very real level, I have come to understand that as part of the 1% pursuing awakening, I am on the most incredible journey and adventure there is!  It kind of makes sky diving seem…insane.

Leave a Reply

