You Can’t See Me

image

A colleague asked for my perspective.  “I want your view,” she said, describing a relationship issue. “You are touchy feely. You get this.”

I tried not to laugh out loud. I am not sure there are many people who would call me touchy feely. I hear the terms strong and confident alot, but not touchy feely.

But I would describe her as very touchy feely.  Which makes sense. “We don’t see the world as it is, we see it as we are.” – Anaïs Nin

Yet, I don’t truly disagree with her perception of me. What I have learned is that while my egoic conditioning or personality may be defined and limited (e.g., I am THIS,  I am not THAT ), my true self is all possibilities.  I can be touchy feely. I like to express my love through touch. I am less expressive than some with my emotions so I let my actions be my Love Language.

What I know is that for all the times we crave being seen, what we mean is that we want to be seen for our ego and still be accepted and loved. I can’t crave being seen for my true self – it is infinite.  It is all possibilities.  You can never really see me unless you can see the divine. You can only see me as the word Namaste – the divine in me recognizes the divine in you. And when I glimpse that, it is a beautiful and miraculous thing.

Leave a Reply

