100 Times a Day

image

How many times have you fallen in love?

Once, with your high school sweetheart?  Two or three times in a lifetime? 

I was sitting at a conference when I realized I was in love. I received a cute and teasing text from a friend and I had a surge of pleasure to receive it. I realized how much I loved my friend.

That’s not the first time I have noticed I am in love. When my spiritual partner texts or calls, I am as committed to our time and growth as I have been to any spouse. My kula mate texts and he could be sitting beside me for the happiness that floods through me. My dear friend calls to say hello or texts to have lunch, and I am enveloped in her love.  My child shares a silly moment with me, and my love explodes in my chest. And so on…I could add to this list for hours. (So, my love, if you don’t see yourself here, know that I recognize my love for you.)

I once read a tantrika say he preferred the phrase “in a state of love in relation to you” rather than the phrase “in love”. I prefer it too. What I have awareness of is that my love is not dependent on others. My love emerges because it is who I am. So I fall in love 100 times a day.

“When you squeeze an orange, you’ll always get orange juice to come out. What comes out is what’s inside. The same logic applies to you: when someone squeezes you, puts pressure on you, or says something unflattering or critical, and out of you comes anger, hatred, bitterness, tension, depression, or anxiety, that is what’s inside. If love and joy are what you want to give and receive, change your life by changing what’s inside.” -Wayne Dyer

Falling in love, feeling love, being love…these are not experiences dependent on The One. The deeply desired union is not because of a magical One or a soul mate. It comes of union with me, my divine self. Only my ego thinks otherwise.

“My experience is that I don’t need anyone to complete me. As soon as I realize that, everyone completes me.” – Byron Katie

And so, I fall in love 100 Times a day.

Leave a Reply

