Losing Your Self

Make a list of your favorite pass times.

Make a list of times you felt most alive.

What do they have in common?

My favorite pass times are reading, painting, watching movies and music. The times I feel most alive are when I am teaching, in nature, and connecting with a person.

What they all have in common is that I lose myself in them. I lose my Self. My mind chatter is shut off. My engagement with ego is quiet.
image

In contrast, if I read and it isn’t written well enough to take over my Self, I don’t like the book. In all my favorite things to do, the measure of how good they were is if I lost my Self in them.

How easy it is to understand that my longing and my happiness are in pursuit of letting go of my Self and having awareness of Awareness. 

2 thoughts on “Losing Your Self

  1. jackcollier7 says:

    Thank you ever So. This is cool. You have made me think deep thoughts.

Leave a Reply

