Kaboom! Mercury in Retrograde

It comes in threes right? But maybe when Mercury is in retrograde, it just comes. 

“As the planet of communication, Mercury retrograde tends to breed a certain level of confusion. Mercury rules our “lower” mind–how we perceive and interpret information that we receive from our environment, and how we relay that information to others. Mercury has rulership over such things as speaking, negotiating, buying and selling, listening, formal contracts, documents, travel, the mail and shipping, and so forth. All of these areas of life are affected when Mercury is functioning in a sluggish state. Decision-making is challenged during Mercury retrograde. Needless to say, it is not advised to sign contracts, engage in important decision-making, or launch a new business. Delays and challenges are more probable with Mercury retrograde. It’s a time when being careless with money, our personal information, or paperwork can be costly.” This Week in Astrology

A blizzard hit Christmas Day. My SUV got stuck in a snowdrift. The dogs are peeing in my hosts’ home. The dogs’ cage was broken accidentally. The movie tickets I pre-purchase wouldn’t print so I had a long line to solve this with 5 kids in tow. I was charged for a hotel room I forgot to cancel. Today my car battery is dead and will need to be replaced before we begin our next trek. 

A part of me wanted to  figure out all the ways I could have prevented any of these things or avoid them in the future. Good old ego, trying to control circumstances. 

In comes awareness. Breathe and accept what is. Cry. Cocoon. Surrender. 

Then, keep moving. The retrograde is a time to reflect and reorganize. I have bought a planner. I am sketching. I am meditating. It will be ok. 

My brother commented that nothing is easy for me. I suppose that’s true but I don’t see it that way. I can’t control circumstances yet with every occurrence, I keep moving. Surrendering becomes easier. Awareness comes in faster.

As the saying goes, in the end everything will be ok. And if it’s not ok, it’s not the end yet. 

One thought on “Kaboom! Mercury in Retrograde

  1. Grandtrines says:

    Reblogged this on Lost Dudeist Astrology.

Leave a Reply

